Skip to content Skip to footer

The Las Positas women’s soccer team created more history this season by hanging up another Coast North Conference championship banner at the “Hawk’s Nest” following their undefeated campaign this fall.

And with the California Community College Athletic Association playoffs now getting underway, the Hawks were further boosted by receiving 18 individual All-Conference awards in the week prior to their post-season opening 3-1 victory against Taft.

The Hawks all but swept the Coast Conference special awards with four members of the team receiving recognition for their contributions during the undefeated run.

The brain behind the championship, Head Coach Andrew Cumbo, was named Coach of the Year in his first season in charge of the women’s team after going 9-0-2 in conference play.

Freshman midfielder Leila Anzo was recognized as the Conference’s Most Valuable Player after leading the Hawks from the engine room with 16 goal contributions (9 goals, 7 assists). In addition, a lot of Anzo’s work on the other side of the ball does not register on the stat sheet — making the Tracy native an invaluable asset to the team’s playoff aspirations.

The Hawks can also boast one of the state’s best defense’s having only conceded two goals in 11 conference games. Their nine shutouts ranked at No. 5 in California, and as a result granted the defensive leader in Lani Sierra the Defender of the Year honor.

Last but not least, the Hawks also saw another freshman midfielder in Haley Chitwood hit the ground running as she notched up a Conference topping 8 assists and received the Freshman of the Year award. Chitwood’s tally also ranked her at No. 14 in the state.

In addition to the special awards, the Hawks also saw 14 of their players land All-Conference team selections.

Full list of awards:

Special Awards

Coach of the Year: Andrew Cumbo

Most Valuable Player: Leila Anzo

Defender of the Year: Lani Sierra

Freshman of the Year: Haley Chitwood

1st Team All-Conference:

Maleni Morales

Lani Sierra

Ally Vierra

Haley Chitwood

Camryn Adams

Leila Anzo

Camille LeBlanc

2nd Team All-Conference:

Marisol Camargo

Lexi Xaysana

Raena Juarez

Paola Barron

3rd Team All-Conference:

Jasmine Loaiza

Araceli Hinojosa

Darlin Hayworth

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.